Chapin Wrestling First Match

December 2nd, The Chapin Eagle Varstiy Wrestling team hosted their first match of the 19-20 season with a quad match against Ben-Lippen, Hammond, and Lugoff-Elgin. The Eagles swept all teams, winning with an overall score of 176-48.

The first match of the night was against Ben-Lippen and the Eagles won with a commanding performance with a total of ten pins by, Mitchell O’Conner, Cyrus Rowe, Will Anderson, CJ Lindler, Mac Watson, Vince Del Priore, Grayson Clark, Patrick Brophy, Chance Layfield and Hunter Dixon. The final score of the match was 84-0.

The second match pitted the Eagles against the defending SCISA state champions Hammond. The Eagles capped off this match with three pins by Boyce Blanks, Shawn Haile, and Hunter Dixon. The Eagles won by a final of 55-15.

The final match of the night was against the Lugoff-Elgin Demons and every year this is a close match to the end. This year it was close from the start, but junior Cyrus Rowe helped the Eagles take the lead with a pin in the first forty-four seconds, the Eagles won 37-33.